Honoring Our Fathers

Happy Father’s Day!

I have been so blessed by both my earthly dad and my heavenly dad.  When I think about the fact that my life started out as fatherless, it is hard to fathom.  God saw my need and selected just the right dad for me!  You can ask him about our first meeting when I was almost 10 months old at O’Hare airport in Chicago and how he had just sold his car to finish paying for my adoption expenses.  Now that is love!

Until adulthood, I don’t think we realize that we think of our Heavenly Father as a reflection of our earthly one, good or bad.  So many of us have had painful experiences with family which can distort our picture of who God is–because of dad not being there, or not providing or showing his love for us.  Sometimes we are so broken and hurt by the ones closest to us that it seems to ruin any possibility of seeing God as a kind and compassionate father.

A beautiful parable in the New Testament tells us of the unconditional love of the father toward the prodigal son who had left his father’s house and demanded his inheritance while the father was still alive.  Scripture shares the story of this beautiful reunion:

Luke 15:20

And he arose and came to his father. But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and felt compassion, and ran and embraced him and kissed him.

Especially because of my dad, I grew up knowing compassion, security and affirmation.  These important things seems to come most significantly from fathers to their children.  To honor my dad is to gratefully accept that I have been shown much compassion and have been called to live a life filled with compassion for others.  I can also choose to be a source of security and affirmation to those I meet along the journey.

Dad and bros

With my bros and dad; Brandon, me, Dad, Greg, Travis

Blessings,

Angela

Leave a Reply

