Honoring Our Mothers

DSC_0704

Clockwise from top left: with my Mom and Maternal Grandmother age 1; Mom and I in Michigan; Visiting the ruins at Olympia, Greece, in 2014

Most of us come from a background where we were taught to think of God as a specifically male deity. God is depicted as male in most forms of art and literature as well. However, if you have read Henri Nouwen’s book, The Return of the Prodigal Son, you will recall that he identifies God as having many maternal characteristics which include being relational and nurturing.  Reading his book in 2000 was the first time I had thought about God having perfect parental character, encompassing traits we think of as characteristic of Mom and of Dad.

I am thankful for my Mom!  God created us to be different in many ways and yet He knew we belonged together.  He made that happen through adoption by bringing me to another continent from my birth country just before 10 months of age and uniting us as a family. I appreciate her deep desire to mother and nurture.  She  and my Maternal Grandmother were relentless in their enthusiasm for me to be a part of their family.

What does honoring my Mom look like?

I learned from my mom to look people in the eye and to speak to them clearly and kindly.  She taught me to be self-sufficient and fostered a healthy self image.  She always demonstrated warmth and affection.  Like her, I developed a love for children.  I can see God teaching me how to be more like Him through what was modeled by my Mom.

Honoring my Mom means saying yes to opportunities to show love and affection, especially to someone who is hurting.  Gracious God, please open my eyes to see the needs around me and make me an instrument of your love and healing.

Blessings,

Angela

Leave a Reply

